Enjoying a view from the bluff trail

The fabled history, folklore and landscape of The Clearing Folk School are the subject of free interpretive hiking tours through the campus and historic buildings, led by our volunteer docents. The two-hour hiking tours begin at 1:00 p.m. at the Jens Jensen Visitor Center, 12171 Garrett Bay Road, Ellison Bay.

The Clearing Folk School was established in 1935 by renowned landscape architect and conservationist, Jens Jensen after first purchasing the original farmstead property in 1919. The Clearing is listed on both the National and State Registers of Historic Places. It continues to provide classes and workshops in the folk school tradition focusing on the arts and fine crafts, humanities and natural sciences. Visitors will also have an opportunity to browse The Clearing Bookstore and Gift Shop. For more information, contact The Clearing at (920) 854-4088 between 8:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Hiking tours are free and open to the public, and last approximately 2 hours. Sturdy walking shoes are recommended as terrain is rugged in places.

MAY

Saturday | May 17
Sunday | May 18

Saturday | May 24 @ 1:30 PM
Sunday | May 25

Saturday | May 31

JUNE

Sunday | June 1

Saturday | June 7
Sunday | June 8

Saturday | June 14
Sunday | June 15

Saturday | June 21
Sunday | June 22

Saturday | June 28
Sunday | June 29

JULY

Saturday | July 5
Sunday | July 6

Saturday | July 12
Sunday | July 13

Saturday | July 19
Sunday | July 20

Saturday | July 26
Sunday | July 27

NOTE: Although not scheduled yet, The Clearing will also be offering hikes in August, September and October. Stay tuned for those dates or give us a call.